Reef Discussion

Susan Bates

Jan 18, 2015
Where To Next?
Hi, I have done a 10% water change in my 400lt tank every day for 5 consecutive days, I have stop feeding frozen brine shrimp and only feeding every second day and dose no pox every day and still my nitrates have not moved at all, what should i try now?

Sam Parker

May 6, 2013
Geelong
I'd be keeping up with the nopox (following instructions, you will need to very slowly increase the dosage over time), limit feeding as much as possible and keep up with water changes as much as possible.

slin1977

Jul 13, 2011
Sydney
As a newbie I used Prodibio and then graduated to Zeovit. Both just as effective.
Start with Prodibio or perhaps as quick cheat get Seachem Stability and Prime.
Stability is Bacteria and Prime will eliminate Nitrates

E

ezza

I have the same aquarium as you @Susan Bates. I have discovered a few things that worked for me...

*suction out the overflow compartment as a layer of mud gathers easily down the back and this can be a nitrate pit.

*thin your sand so it can't amass mulm and detritus. I am actually starting to think about removing more sand. Mine is maybe an inch deep.

*don't put sand in the sump. I have some marine pure balls, macroalgae and the skimmer. I also use a biopellet reactor.

*filter socks. I firmly believe that using filter socks under the blue outlet pipe in the sump is why I finally got to keeping SPS alive. I rotate 4 or 5 bags throughout the week. I replace them when they clog up and overflow obviously. Then I rinse them out and soak them in a bucket of bleach and water that lives in the laundry. They catch all the old food and brown scunge that is suspended in the water column. If I don't use them, I see a difference in the corals within a day. It's a very cheap and effective way to mechanically remove water pollution.

IJG3145

Oct 27, 2015
South Gippsland
Hi Susan,