Reef Discussion

Shaun3350

Feb 19, 2014
Shepparton
Ebay Lights
Hello

Before you start why I shouldn't there are reasons why, mainly budget.
There will be very little if any SPS under them. Mainly softies and LPS.
It's for an almost 2 ft cube.

I am looking at these two lights.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/WIFI-Dim...915512?hash=item3cfd7dc3b8:g:AIUAAOSwMmBVkmnl

ai1382.photobucket.com_albums_ah267_hyebayphoto_165_20WIFI_165W_20wifi_201_20_zpsacoang7k.jpg

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/WIFI-Ful...285287?hash=item3cec7764a7:g:U3oAAOSwLVZVk09e

ai448.photobucket.com_albums_qq203_sales0011_169w_20wifi__1_201_zpss9pyjlnz.jpg

I'm after any advice between the 2. with only $20 difference. It appears it's just the LED setup is whats different about them.

Thanks
Shaun

IJG3145

Oct 27, 2015
South Gippsland
I'm no expert on leds so quality, longevity etc aside, I don't like the 169 watt one at all, the light is too focused in two spots, like spotlights, the one with the individual leds looks better. Also the blues are of such low wattage they will have little effect except visually.

Your biggest problem is likely to be rust. I have some early Daluas and they rust if the guy two blocks away waters his garden.

ReeferRob

Solidarité
Oct 22, 2014
Bel Air
I use the SUPAR CHINABOX lights on runs with good luck. I only hold corals for a short period, but one of my personal QT systems ahs them on it and everything's doing great in there.

jaspass

Jul 22, 2013
Brisbane
Fish streets coral box moon led might be worth a look, should fit your budget. I'm not qualified to comment on the lights in question as I don't know any one who runs them but I have wondered about them myself. Probably don't need 165 watts on a 2 foot cube though.

E

ezza