Off-Topic

brendore

Oct 4, 2011
Port Macquarie, NSW, AUS
Photo Editing Software
Hey all, just a quick one... What do you guys use and/or recommend for photo editing software.. I'm rather drawn between Corel Paint Photo Pro X4 and the new Adobe Photoshop.. Any suggestions?

Cheers B

Dynamic

Radio Host
Jul 9, 2011
Melbourne, Australia
I would go for Photoshop. It will do pretty much anything you need it to do, and because of it's popularity you will be able to get your hands on a lot of plugins for free. This includes brushes, etc.

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
It depends on what you want to use it for??

I used Paint Shop Pro (when it was still freeware!!) for many years through many different versions. I have been using Photoshop for about the last 6 years and now use it exclusively, together with Lightroom.

I use a lot of its capability but there is still much more that I will never use. I have spent many hours watching videos, doing tutorials etc and have picked up a lot, but much of it you will forget over time if you are not using it constantly.

If you enjoy learning how to use things properly then PS maybe for you - if you just want to do a quick edit on your photo's then something simpler (and cheaper) will suffice. Photoshop Elements would probably do everything you wanted.

brendore

Oct 4, 2011
Port Macquarie, NSW, AUS
Thanks for all the advice guys much appreciated.. I've read a couple of reviews on both and it seems the Photo Pro X4 does exactly the same as PS (on toptenreviews.com) it won 2011 review of the year... just.. The reason it did so according to this site is it's easier to use than PS. I've used Illustrator in the past and found it frustratingly difficult to get the results I wanted swapped to Corel Draw and got better results..