Tank Journal Archive

ifyalucky

Jul 15, 2011
Ifyalucky Budget Build - 4x2x1.5
Hi everyone this is my first marine tank i have not had a tank sense i was a child and that was a fresh water one. being my first tank and and having a house to pay for it has been a budget build as you will see hope you all enjoy and leave me feed back as i m only learning still. I have done a DIY led build for the tank plumbed it all my self a test run with fresh water to make sure no flooding lol. As i m a cabinet maker by trade (no longer work in the trade) i cladded my steel frame stand with solid jarrah. Well cheers for looking hope you all enjoy and leave some feed back:)Cheers Shaun
037.JPG

Reefing Since:new to it all just starting out

System Objectives:

Type of reef: Mixed and easy care as this is my first

Display System:

Initial Fill Date: 12/08/11 if all goes to plan

Display Tank Dimensions: 4"longx2"heighx1.5"wide

Display Lighting: DIY led from aquastyleonline.com home made heat sink from scrap metal yard.

Stand:Steel frame with jarrah cladding and doors

Hood or Rimless: Custon jarrah to suit led and tank

Sump Design:2 pass air bubble trap with a bucket of live sand

Filtration:Live sand filter sock

Support systems:

NSW or ASW: NSW

Display Water circulation: JVP Ebay special meant to turn over 12000lph but i work on half that so will run 3 of them lol.

Return Pump:3600 lph aquagarden (barracuda) returning 900lph to tank

Skimmer:Reef octopus 3000 3x Secondhand not even a year old when getting it bit of a over kill but at the right price

Evaporation Top Up:Non

Chemical additions:

Calcium Addition: Non

Alkilinity Addition: Non

Magnesium Addition:Non

Prodibiotics Addition:Non

Coral Food Addition:Yet to decide

ifyalucky

Jul 15, 2011