Reef Discussion

Fmxchick

Mar 9, 2017
Id And Should I Be Concerned
Hi all,
Just wanting to know if I should be concerned about what is growing on my hammer. Noticed these after I dipped it. There are quite a few on it.
TIA

IMG_0271.jpg

RobbieMVFC

Feb 25, 2013
My guess , Look like Spaghetti Worm to me
Some people say they are harmless some people say they irritate the corals.
I have a heap in my tank and cannot see any harm but I am no expert on them.

Fmxchick

Mar 9, 2017
My guess , Look like Spaghetti Worm to me
Some people say they are harmless some people say they irritate the corals.
I have a heap in my tank and cannot see any harm but I am no expert on them.
Thank you @RobbieMVFC, I will keep an eye out to see how it goes. Obviously ReVive doesn't work on these.

Adam_w

Jul 6, 2016
I have them as well, but I've never seen them growing straight out of a coral before..

I posted on here about it too when I first found them, apparently it's not much to worry about unless they get out of hand. I read an article that said something about the mucus pestering corals and when they infect a whole reef in the wild it is eventually taken over by algae. In saying that my tank is fine at the moment with them, even have a massive bright orange one growing off the side of my clam

Fmxchick

Mar 9, 2017
Thanks for that @Adam_w.
They don't seem to be worrying the hammer atm but will keep an eye out. These are all the same colour and just don't look very pleasing to the eye.

Savage Henry

Feb 2, 2015