Reef Discussion

Susan Bates

Jan 18, 2015
Elegance
Here i go again with the questions....I have a very large gold tip elegance, where about in the tank should he sit,some people say on the bottom some say up high,I have 60 cm deep tank, also should i dose iron supplement ?

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
They will adapt pretty well to either location, or anywhere in between. I always thought that they naturally occurred on muddy bottoms but I think it was @Oceanarium who indicated that he has seen them on rocky areas as well.

A large one will spread out quite a bit so you will need to give it plenty of room - that normally means that they are placed on the sand bed.

I have no experience with iron supplements.

Agent M

Oct 21, 2011
Melbourne
Either sand bed or placed on the rock is fine. If you have anything kicking up sand onto it then go for rock placement.

Just be aware too that they can on occasion eat fish and are often the winners when it comes to competition with other corals, so make sure it can't reach your other corals when it expands to full capacity and give it room to grow - they can get quite big within 6 months to a year.

Susan Bates

Jan 18, 2015
Either sand bed or placed on the rock is fine. If you have anything kicking up sand onto it then go for rock placement.

Just be aware too that they can on occasion eat fish and are often the winners when it comes to competition with other corals, so make sure it can't reach your other corals when it expands to full capacity and give it room to grow - they can get quite big within 6 months to a year.
oh no, it will eat fish?? mine is quite large
IMG_1992.jpg

ReeferRob

Solidarité
Oct 22, 2014
Bel Air