Reef Discussion

Brad Gamble

May 19, 2013
Brown Algae Outbreak
Hi guys,
Im new to the salt water aquariums and i have recently set up my 160litre tank. Its been going for around 2 months now with fish added around 2 weeks ago. I now have 4 Occelaris clowns (2 black and white, 2 orange and white) and 2 banded coral shrimp in the tank all doing well. I have been feeding them every second day with all food being eaten. I also had a blue tang in the tank but yesterday it died suddenly. It showed no signs of ich and had been a very friendly playful fish. A few minutes before it died it was swimming around uncontrollably, swimming into the glass and sand as if it had no control of where it was swimming, Any ideas?
I have also had an outbreak in brown algae the last 2 days which is covering my sand and live rock rapidly. Any help would be great.

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
Hi @Brad Gamble :welcome

What size is this tank?

The brown algae is probably diatoms which is a normal part of the tank cycling process. But, it does indicate that your tank is still cycling....

When we rely on our live rock, sand etc to harbor the beneficial bacteria to convert ammonia to nitrite and then nitrate we need to give the bacteria time to react to a change in the amount of ammonia etc being added to the system. Based on your post, it would appear that the tank was empty for around 6 weeks, and then 5 fish were added 2 weeks ago. The bacteria takes some time to adapt to the increased ammonia and nitrites and my best guess is that ammonia and/or nitrites have built up to a level which effectively poisoned the blue tang. You need to add your livestock slowly i.e. 1 or 2 fish every 3-4 weeks so that your tank has time to adapt.

By the way, unless you plan to upgrade to a 5-6 foot tank within 12 months, a Blue Tang is not really suitable for your tank as it will grow too big fairly quickly.

Cheers

Brad Gamble

May 19, 2013
Thanks for the reply