New To Reefing

Zaphyrr

Jun 2, 2016
Bleached Crispa Anemone
Hi everyone,
I'm hoping someone here may be able to offer some advice...
I am very new to marine tanks and have had my tank set up for a little over a year. I have been trying to take it slow and have 2 clowns and a couple of rhodactis which seem to be doing well.

My problem: I visited my usual supplier about 4 months ago and let myself be talked into getting a purple crispa anemone. My parameters at that point had been stable but I really was (and still am) lacking some knowledge of how to look after him. I realised after I got him home (and researched) that he was totally bleached, but otherwise he acclimated well.
For the last couple of months he has been attached to the base of the tank (beneath the sand), hasn't appeared 'sick' at any point, has sticky tentacles and readily accepts food every few days. However, he doesn't seem to be regaining any zooxanthella. Am I doing something that may be preventing his recovery?

Parameters:
Ammonia, nitrate = 0
Nitrate = 0.5 ppm
Kh = 8 dkh
pH = 8.1
Phosphate = 0.2 ppm
Ca = 400 ppm

Under AI hydra led light - Spectrum/intensity may be the issue? I've read that nems should be under at least 14 000k...

Thanks!

Attachments

E

ezza

I am no expert, but if it's eating, attached and fluffy- it is ok. I think just feeding it and ensuring it has adequate light is a good place to start. If any of those things change, then I would start by putting it in a basket nearer the light and give it TLC.

daveH

Team Leader
Nov 24, 2011
Brisbane Northside
@somethingfishy76 just got hold of a bleached nem for his clowns and it looks spectacular, we're hoping it stays the same, it really stands out in the tank and is quite the centre piece. Maybe just let it do what it's going to do.

Savage Henry

Feb 2, 2015
Is it a Malu? If so, it's a hard one to keep.

Would it be better to keep the clowns away or would they assist it to recover?

IJG3145

Oct 27, 2015
South Gippsland