Tank Journal Archive

Jake Hower

Jun 21, 2018
Rye
A Week In...
At the start of the month we got my daughter a goldfish tank for her 4th birthday... helping her look after that tank inspired me to get something of my own.

I had a tropical fresh water tank years ago in my late teens and loved it. Myself and my wife moved every year or two through our 20s, relocating and maintaining a tank was too much effort so I sold it.

I have a lot more time on my hands now and we have settled down on the Mornington Peninsula. I work from home, in a converted garage office. I waste a decent amount of time in the office so having something meaningful to waste that time on was really attractive.

So, over the course of the past month, I've been digging around in here, on Reef2Reef and Youtube, learning as much as possible about reefing.

Initially I was looking at a Nano All-In-One system as I wanted something easy and compact. The more I studied, the more I realised something a little bigger would work better.

The biggest issue for me though was cost. Being my first attempt at reefing, I'm not sure if the hobby is right for me, or if it's just a stage I'm going through .

Over the past few weeks I've purchased a 3ft tank, stand and an Aqua One Marisys 240 Series 2 filtration system, extra Aqua One G216 Protein Skimmer, cheap LED lights off of Gumtree for a decent price (under $200), then I found 30kg of live rock on Gumtree for $120 and I thought I'd accomplished a cheap setup! How wrong I was...

Since, I've upgraded the lights to a 165W LED black box off of Amazon, purchased a cheap power head, substrate, a bunch of buckets, hoses, Red Sea testing kits, PH pen, Refractometer, Sonoff Smart Switches etc and I've realized I've spent way more than I expected when I was first starting. Hopefully this isn't just a "stage" I'm going through.